The Disappointment Zone

Musings from a Cleveland sports fan

Browns: 39%

Posted by disappointmentzone on 7 November 2007

Football Outsiders has updated its Playoff Odds Report. Last week they gave the Browns a 27% chance of making the playoffs. This week they give the Browns a 39% chance, with a mean wins of 9.2.

4 Responses to “Browns: 39%”

  1. kiddicus said

    If you look at the remaining schedule :

    Pitt
    Bal
    Houston
    Arizona
    NY Jets
    Buffalo
    Cincy
    San Francisco

    We have a solid chance of going 11-5. I don’t think even the most die-hard Browns fan would’ve predicted a 5-3 record by this point in the year. We played some tough football against some good teams… and we just have mop-up duty now.

  2. Yeah, I wrote about this a short while ago. I put the Browns on 10-6, at worst 9-7. Both will get them the wild card, I think.

  3. kiddicus said

    I guess what I was trying to say is that 39% seems a tad low to me when you consider the less-than-formidable opposition.

    I guess I need to start reading more.

  4. The 39% reflects (I’m assuming) that right now the Browns do not hold the tie breaker for the wild card. In other words they don’t control their own destiny, which means that even if they win out they aren’t guaranteed a playoff spot. But I think it’s a safe bet that if the Browns win the rest of their games they’ll make the playoffs.

Leave a Reply

 
