The Disappointment Zone

Musings from a Cleveland sports fan

Small bit to make you feel anxious

Posted by disappointmentzone on 20 October 2006

Peter Vescey, in today’s NY Post, has a column about the feud between Isaiah Thomas and ESPN NBA analyst Greg Anthony. I know, exciting. One of the reasons these two are feuding is because Anthony “figured out what [Thomas] was up to” when, in an apparent move to win the goodwill of LeBron James, Thomas signed Jamal Crawford and Vin Baker, both clients of Aaron Goodwin, who is James’s agent. But that’s not the interesting bit. This is the interesting bit:

A high-level league source swears James will opt out early (after the 20011-12 season) from his new deal and join the Knicks.

I have no idea how the LBJ situation will play out over the next few seasons. No idea. The only thing I’m certain about is that there will be a constant string of anonymous league insiders stating that LBJ is gone when his contract expires, if not sooner, and that these anonymous sources will be quoted when a) the Cavs go through a tough losing streak, b) the Knicks go through a winning streak, c) there is talk of Thomas losing his job, d) there is a slow news day in off season. There are probably e), f), g), and h), but that’s too much to consider right now.

His contract hasn’t even kicked in yet and he’s already gone from Cleveland (or so we are being told). The life of a Cavs fan: gotta love it!

6 Responses to “Small bit to make you feel anxious”

  1. Erik said

    This will be going on as long as LeBron is in Cleveland. There is too much media in New York, too many column inches to fill, and on a slow news day, they will gravitate to the old standards, like whipping up some more LeBron rumors.

    I’m sick of being scared of LeBron leaving. He’s going to do what he’s going to do. Hopefully, that’s stay in Cleveland, but no one can control that but him. All I know is that we have him, no questions asked, for four more seasons, and I really want to enjoy the fact that he is here while he is here.

  2. Ben said

    I’ve written about this before, but the idea that Isiah Thomas drafted players with the same agent as LeBron is laughable. The guy is fighting for his job this season, and if he’s taking guys based on AGENTS, to help sign a player who won’t be available for two years (before ‘Bron re-upped), well, he’s an idiot.

  3. Erik said

    Isiah IS an idiot. I can’t wait for Greg Oden to sign with an agent so Thomas can start signing players repped by Oden’s agent, anticipating the forthcoming Greg Oden sweepstakes in the summer of 2012.

  4. I have a strong feeling that the Oden Sweekstakes will begin sooner than the summer of 2012, although if it began then I see at least one final four banner for OSU.

  5. Newton said

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to
    my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience
    with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  6. I think that what you typed was very logical.

    But, what about this? what if you composed a catchier title?
    I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your website, however what if you added a title that grabbed people’s attention?
    I mean Small bit to make you feel anxious « The Disappointment Zone is
    kinda vanilla. You should peek at Yahoo’s front page
    and watch how they write news titles to grab viewers to open the links.

    You might add a related video or a pic or two to grab readers
    excited about everything’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it
    could make your website a little bit more interesting.

Leave a Reply

 
